--- title: "How Do Locks Work in Lasernet 9 and 10?" slug: "how-do-locks-work-in-lasernet-9-and-10" description: "Multiple users can work with the same configuration simultaneously. A built-in lock system prevents edited locked and non-committed objects from being combined." tags: ["Locks", "Lasernet 9 "] updated: 2026-03-05T11:48:27Z published: 2026-03-05T11:48:27Z canonical: "kb.lasernetgroup.com/how-do-locks-work-in-lasernet-9-and-10" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://kb.lasernetgroup.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # How Do Locks Work in Lasernet 9 and 10? **Applies to:** Lasernet 9, Lasernet Core 10 Multiple users can work with the same configuration simultaneously from different computers. A built-in lock system prevents edited locked and non-committed objects from being combined. It is recommended that you create unique users on the Lasernet Configuration Server for each user working with the Lasernet Developer in order to track changes and commits as well as handle object locks in the configuration. When an object is added, opened, or modified, a lock symbol appears next to it, with information about who has locked it and when. The object is locked for any user until it is either committed or reverted. To identify locks within a build, open Lasernet Developer, click **Revision** in the Menu bar, and then select the **Locks** option. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-KBNOGXD4.png) > [!NOTE] > Note > > Only a user of the admin group can remove listed locks for another user. Removing locks will remove the user’s work. The following are two scenarios where the locks feature would come into use: #### Scenario One The admin user logs into Lasernet Developer and tries to open the **PDF** module. An alert appears explaining that User2 has locked the **PDF** module. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-T61S3479.png) User2 can log in and commit or revert the amendment to the **PDF** module so it becomes unlocked. Alternatively, the admin user can remove the lock by opening **Revision** > **Locks** and clicking **Remove**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-KVMHQCTT.png) > [!WARNING] > Warning > > Removing the lock means all the modified settings of a non-committed object are immediately lost for that logged-in user (or when the configuration opens for that user). In this example, User2 would lose their work on the PDF module. #### Scenario Two In the following example, the user admin is logged in and has made amends to several objects. The admin user wishes to remove the locks. They appear greyed out as they belong to the admin user. These greyed-out locks can only be removed by the admin user by committing or reverting the changes. They cannot be removed by using the **Lock** screen, as users cannot remove their locks. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-J8UMPE49.png) #### Commit Changes To push any new changes (additions, edits, deletions) to the configuration server since the last revision, click **Commit**. These changes will be pushed to logged-in users (or the next time the configuration opens for that user). ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-OJ2MPTNP.png) Or here: ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c831ef63-c6b3-48ee-b443-3e33644e4e2e/Images/Documentation/image-XEA51GLY.png) #### Revert Changes Click **Revert** to revert changes for the selected objects since the last commit. These changes will be pushed to logged-in users (or the next time the configuration opens for that user).